Actions, events

World Kidney Day: "Kidneys in good health: it’s important, for everyone!" colloquium

Thursday 26th March 2015 at the Académie nationale de Médecine/National Academy of Medicine (Paris, 6th Arrondissement)
Like every year on World Kidney Day, the ITMO Physiopathology, metabolism, nutrition, the Kidney foundation, and the learned Nephrology societies organise a meeting between researchers, health professionals, patients, and patient associations. The 2015 edition of this meeting concerned the genetic and environmental factors of kidney disease, but also the feelings of the patients and the disparity of access to care and treatment.
Programme
Watch the presentations delivered by the day’s speakers

German‐French Retreat 2015 - Helmholtz Research School “Lung Biology and Disease”

24th‐27th March 2015 – Tegernsee
This annual retreat is part of the Franco-German cooperation programme on Pneumology.
Programme edition 2015

French-German Summer school on “Integrative biology in metabolic and cardiovascular diseases”

March, 15th to 19th, 2015- Maffliers (Val d’Oise)
The Franco-German summer school "Integrative biology in metabolic and cardiovascular diseases" was organised by the ITMO PMN in partnership with the Max-Delbrück centre for Molecular Medicine (MDC) in Berlin and 3 University hospital departments in the Ile de France: DHU AUTo-immune and HORmonal diseaseS – Necker/Cochin Hospital – Paris-Descartes University, DHU Unmet Needs for Innovation in HepaTology and GastroenterologY – Bichat/Beaujon hospital / Paris-Diderot University, DHU CRAP (Common and Rare Arterial Pathologies – Georges-Pompidou European Hospital / Paris-Descartes University
The summer school was supported by the Franco-German University.
Programme and website

"Therapeutic innovation" colloquium

18th and 19th December 2014 (Buffon auditorium - Paris-Diderot University - Paris 13th Arrondissement)
This colloquium was co-organised by the Multi-Organisation Thematic (ITMO) Circulation, Metabolism and Nutrition (CMN) and Health Technologies (TS) Institutes with the aim of presenting examples of successful therapeutic innovations in the areas of research covered by ITMO CMN, to give the researchers a better understanding of the potential of their research for innovation, and to inform them of the pathway leading to the exploitation of their results.The colloquium was opened with an introductory lecture given by Herman Waldmann (Therapeutic Immunology Group – University of Oxford) on the use of therapeutic antibodies to control the tolerance mechanisms of the immune system. It was closed by a Round Table which led to both an academic and industrial outlook of therapeutic innovations and a discussion on the issues.
Programme

1st Franco-German Symposium on Diabetes Research

11th and 12th December 2014 at the French Embassy in Berlin
This symposium, co-organised by the French Embassy, the German Centre for Diabetes research (DZD) and the ITMO (Multi-Organisation Thematic Institute) Circulation, Meetabolism and Nutrition, in partnership with Sanofi, brought together French and German experts in fields covering research on beta cell biology, interactions between organs and tissues, the involvement of the immune system and the influence of the environment on diabetes. The aim was to bring the French and German scientists together, to promote discussion and encourage collaborations. It laid the foundations for a French-German Academy for diabetes research.
Programme

1st Meeting of Foundations and Associations for Research on Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Diseases "Ageing Well Without Rheumatic or Musculoskeletal Diseases"

Monday 13th October 2014 - Pavillon de l’Eau/Water Pavilion (Paris 16th Arrondissement)
This meeting was co-organised by Inserm, Aviesan, the Courtin Arthritis Foundation and the French Society for Rheumatology (with its endowment fund, "France Rhumatismes") for "World Arthritis Day".
The scientific meeting highlighted the latest advances in research on rheumatic and musculoskeletal diseases. A discussion session with the patient associations was organised at the end of the day to communicate some of these advances in a language understandable by most people.

Programme

See the presentations delivered by the day’s speakers (Login: aviesan - Password: avies@n)
Organisation and Steering committee: Florence APPARAILLY, Thomas BARDIN, Francis BERENBAUM, Christian BOITARD, Maxime BREBAN, Lionel COMOLE, Caroline DREUILLET, René-Marc FLIPO, Laure GOSSEC, Nathalie GRIVEL, Jérôme GUICHEUX, Marie-Hélène LAFAGE-PROUST, Christian ROUX, Catherine REILLAT, Françoise RUSSO-MARIE, Jean SIBILIA

World Kidney Day: "Kidney Diseases and Ageing"

Thursday 13 Mars 2014 in the Académie nationale de médecine, 16 rue Bonaparte (Paris 6e)
This meeting of researchers, healthcare professionals and patient associations was held true to annual tradition, on World Kidney Day. The 2014 edition of the meetings, which took place on 13 March at the National Academy of Medicine, focused in kidney diseases and ageing.
Read the Event Gazette (in french)
View the presentations delivered by the day’s speakers (in french)

"Non-Coding RNA" Workshop

19 December 2013 in the Biopark Site Auditorium (Paris 13th Arrondissement)
This workshop was organised by the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO, in cooperation with the Genetics, Genomics and Bioinformatics ITMO. It focused primarily on non-coding RNA, with the aim of taking stock of the latest findings in the field and providing this recent data in genetics to the teams most focused on the physiopathology of diseases, the causes of which are often multi-factorial.
The workshop was the opportunity to bring together scientists and clinicians from a variety of fields, discuss on the topic of non-coding RNA, trigger reflection and foster future cooperation.
Scientific Committee: Dominique Daegelen, Joëlle Marie and Richard Moreau
Agenda

2nd Franco-German Symposium on Research in the Cardiovascular Field "Frontiers of Cardiovascular Research"

22 November 2013, Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany in Paris
This symposium, jointly-organised by the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO and the Max-Delbrück Centre of Molecular Medicine in Berlin, brought together French and German experts from the field of cardiovascular research.
Open to all scientific community members, it was aimed at introducing the know-how of researchers from the two countries, foster discussion and spark new cooperation efforts. The day concluded with a Round Table on the financing opportunities for cooperative Franco-German projects.
For more information, visit the event’s site
Agenda and Posters

4th Annual Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO Conference

3 October 2013, in the Petit Auditorium at Bibliothèque François-Mitterrand, Paris 13th Arrondissement
One of the scientific priorities set out by the CMN ITMO under its research strategy is the study of the multiple and complex interactions between organs, including dialogue between the central nervous system and peripheral tissue. For the 4th edition of its annual conference, the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO joined forces with the Neurosciences, Cognitive Sciences, Neurology and Psychiatrics ITMO to devise an agenda focused on central control of metabolic functions.
The agenda included two general lectures delivered by Matthias Tschöp (Helmholtz Centre in Munich, Germany) and Claudio Franceschi (University of Bologna, Italy).
Agenda

Workshop "Viewing Inflammation and Fibrosis"

26 June 2013 at the Plein Ciel Amphitheater, MGEN, in Paris (15th Arrondissement)
This workshop, organised by the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO was held on Wednesday 26 June 2013 at the Plein Ciel Amphitheater, MGEN, in Paris (15th Arrondissement).
It was the opportunity to explore the techniques currently used in animal imaging, at the cellular and tissular level, with a focus on inflammation and fibrosis. The workshop was aimed at sharing the experiments and expertise of French and European researchers and fostering interaction around these techniques, in order to best advise future users.
Agenda

"Young Researchers" Symposium held by the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO

16 May 2013, at the Adicare Auditorium, Institute of Cardiology, Pitié-Salpêtrière Hospital, Paris 13th Arrondissement
This symposium was designed to showcase the research projects developed in the CMN ITMO’s thematic areas by the young top-tier researchers who will be producing the research of the future, with the aim of sparking reflection and enabling new encounters. The agenda included two general lectures, given by Joël Nargeot (Institute of Functional Genomics, Montpellier) and Pierre Leopold (Valrose Institute of Biology, Nice).
Agenda

Meeting-Debate "Stop Kidney Damage" with patient associations

On 21 March 2013, National Academy of Medicine (16 rue Bonaparte, Paris 6th Arrondissement)
True to annual tradition, for World Kidney Day, a meeting-debate was organised by the Inserm Associations Task Force and Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition ITMO, in partnership with 7 associations of patients affected by kidney diseases and the Kidney Foundation. The 2013 meeting focused on severe kidney failure and the influence of environmental and drug-related factors.
Read the Event’s Gazette (in french)

"The Contribution of ‘Omic’ Analysis to Biomedical Research in the Cardiovascular, Metabolic and Nutritional Fields" Workshop

6 Décembre 2012 in the Amphitheatre of INRA Headquarters (Paris 7th Arrondissement)
This workshop was organised by the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition and Genomics, Genetics and Bio-Informatics ITMOs. It was held on 6 December 2012 in the Amphitheatre of INRA Headquarters (Paris 7th Arrondissement)
Workshop Agenda

"Alcohol" Workshop

29 November 2012, Adicare Auditorium (Institute of Cardiology, Pitié Salpêtrière General Hospital, Paris 13th)
This workshop, organised by the Circulation, Metabolism, Nutrition and Public Health ITMOs, addressed the topic of alcohol from the societal, economic, biological and medical angles. Two international lectures were delivered, dealing with the economic impact of alcohol consumption and related diseases (Pr. Jürgen Rehm, Toronto, Canada) and addiction management (Pr. Karl Mann, University of Heidelberg, Germany). It was aimed at researchers, scientists, clinicians and players interested in the topic with the aim of stirring discussion and promoting future collaboration.
Scientific Committee: Jean-Charles Duclos-Vallée, Philippe Mathurin, Richard Moreau, Bertrand Nalpas, Philippe Sogni
Agenda

3rd Annual Circulation, Metabolism and Nutrition ITMO Conference

29 March 2012, Maison de la Chimie, Paris 7th Arrondissement
For its 3rd Edition, the CMN ITMO decided to honour promising young researchers dedicating their work to one of the topics covered by the Institute. Agenda highlights included two general lectures given by Jens C Brüning (University of Cologne, Germany) and Jean-Marc Reichhart (Institute of Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of Strasbourg).
Conference Agenda

 

 

 

 

The 2nd International Encounters of Biomedical Research, jointly organized by the International Research Laboratories (LIR), French Pharmaceutical Companies Association (LEEM) and Circulation, Metabolism and Nutrition thematic multi-organization institute, focused on cardiovascular and metabolic diseases
Know more...


 

Interview of Christian Boitard, Director of the thematic multi-organization institute Physiopathology, Metabolism, Nutrition

Medical challenges

Heart, blood vessels, lungs, endocrine glands, liver, kidneys, digestive tract, skin, bones, joints... not a single family today is spared the great many diseases affecting these organs. And in the space of two generations, obesity has become a plague in our affluent societies. 

Cardiovascular, respiratory, metabolic and nutritional diseases are very common and have devastating complications, and they therefore represent a major public health issue. Diabetes, hyperlipidaemia, obesity, kidney failure and atherosclerosis lead to cardiovascular diseases that are, alongside cancer, the main cause of death in industrialised societies.

Coronary disease, strokes and chronic heart failure account for 75% of cerebrovascular diseases and are alone responsible for 29% of deaths annually. Thrombotic diseases are very prevalent, arterial thrombosis (ischaemic diseases) and venous thrombosis (thrombo-embolic disease) are the world's leading cause of death. The prevalence of constitutional haemorrhagic diseases is limited, but their social and economic impact is significant, as in the case of haemophilia.

Respiratory diseases (asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, COPD; pulmonary fibroses) affect millions of people in France and their incidence is increasing. COPD alone already represents the third-largest cause of death in Europe (sixth in the world).

The prevalence of diabetes and glucose intolerance has now reached 7.1% and 5.6%, respectively, in France, affecting nearly 4 million people.

This prevalence follows a steadily rising trend, galloping in certain countries, parallel to that for obesity, that affects more than 15% of the adult population, but also the child and teenage populations. Hyperlipidaemia, obesity and diabetes are the cause of serious complications: vision disorders and blindness, strokes and heart attacks, neurological disorders, amputations, respiratory, liver and kidney problems.

These diseases, all cardiovascular risk factors, are all the more severe in their medical impact as they are often combined in the same patient. There has even been talk of a truemetabolic syndrome in patients presenting visceral (abdominal) obesity, dyslipidaemia (increased level of triglycerides and/or low level of HDL-cholesterol), high blood pressure, diabetes, blood clotting problems and kidney disorders (microalbuminuria). These are often associated with non-vascular complications such as hepatic steatoses, which generally lead to cirrhosis or arthrosis, for which obesity is itself a considerable aggravating factor. Very diverse populations are affected. In particular, several epidemiological studies suggest that people of non-European origins are most exposed to the risk.

Paradoxically, our societies are also facing the problem of malnutrition. It is estimated that nutritional deficiencies are still causing the deaths of 3 million children annually, essentially in developing countries. But malnutrition also affects 40% of patients suffering from chronic diseases, 30% to 50% of patients admitted to hospital (taking all illnesses combined), aggravating both the morbidity and mortality of patients. Normal ageing is also accompanied by frequent disruption to food intake leading to various deficiencies.

Diseases of the bones and joints are also a concern for the French, particularly due to ageing of the population. On their own they represent half of chronic diseases in people over 65 and are a major cause of invalidity (arthrosis is the second largest handicap factor in men, the fourth in women). Among the over 50s, one women in four and one man in eight will be affected by osteoporosis during their lives.

Skin diseases include a proportion of allergic complaints (atopic dermatitis, contact eczema, occupational dermatoses, photo-allergies, urticaria and skin accidents due to oral administration of a drug (toxicodermatitis)) and a proportion of chronic inflammatory disorders (psoriasis, atopic dermatitis, pelada, etc.). Among this latter group, psoriasis, affects between two and three million people in France and is associated with a significant change in the quality of life, often leading to a severe social handicap. The impact of this dermatosis on the quality of life is as significant as that caused by asthma, diabetes or chronic cardiac ischaemic diseases. The social cost of psoriasis is therefore considerable. Ageing of the population is accompanied is increasingly frequently accompanied by chronic vascular complaints of the lower limbs. Their treatment is complex and should be multi-disciplinary, ideally as part of a care network led by dermatologists specialised in the field of cicatrisation.


Director : Christian Boitard

Co-director : Jean Dallongeville

Policy Officers: Nathalie Grivel, Raymond Bazin

Contact: itmoPMN@aviesan.fr

Experts Committee: Jean-François Arnal (PU-PH), Francis Berenbaum (PU-PH), Chantal Boulanger (DR, Inserm), Nadine Cerf-Bensussan (DR, Inserm), Jean Dallongeville (DR, Inra), Barbara Demeneix (PR, MNHN), Chloé Féral (DR2, Inserm), Marc Humbert (PU-PH), Christophe Junot (Chercheur, CEA), Armelle Leturque (DR, CNRS), Michael Lukasiewicz (Directeur médical, ARIIS), Roger Marthan (PU-PH), Renato Monteiro (PU-PH), Richard Moreau (DR, Inserm), Luc Pénicaud (DR, CNRS), Mickaël Tanter (DR, Inserm)
 

View Edit Create here

Actions, manifestations

Journée mondiale du rein : Colloque "Des reins en bonne santé : c'est vital, pour tous !"

Le 26 mars 2015, à l’Académie nationale de Médecine (Paris 6)
Comme chaque année à l’occasion de la Journée Mondiale du Rein, l’ITMO Physiopathologie métabolisme nutrition, la Fondation du Rein et les Sociétés Savantes de Néphrologie organisent une rencontre entre chercheurs, professionnels de santé, patients et associations de patients. L’édition 2015 de ces rencontres a porté sur les facteurs génétiques et environnementaux des maladies rénales, mais aussi sur le ressenti des patients, la disparité d'accès aux soins et de la prise en charge.
Programme
Voir les présentations des intervenants de la journée

German‐French Retreat 2015 - Helmholtz Research School "Lung Biology and Disease"

March 24‐27, 2015 – Tegernsee
Cette retraite annuelle s’inscrit dans le cadre du programme de coopération franco-allemand sur le thème de la Pneumologie.
Programme édition 2015

French-German Summer school on “Integrative biology in metabolic and cardiovascular diseases”

March, 15th to 19th, 2015- Maffliers (Val d’Oise)
L’école d’été franco-allemande "Integrative biology in metabolic and cardiovascular diseases" a été organisée par l’ITMO PMN en partenariat avec le centre Max-Delbrück de Médecine Moléculaire (MDC) de Berlin et 3 Départements Hospitalo-Universitaires franciliens : DHU AUTo-immune and HORmonal diseaseS - Hôpital Cochin/Necker / Université Paris-Descartes ; DHU Unmet Needs for Innovation in HepaTology and GastroenterologY - Hôpital Bichat/Beaujon / Université Paris-Diderot ; DHU CRAP (Common and Rare Arterial Pathologies - Hôpital européen Georges-Pompidou / Université Paris-Descartes. L’école d’été a été soutenue par l’Université Franco-Allemande.
Programme et site

Colloque "Innovation thérapeutique"

Les 18 et 19 décembre 2014 (Amphithéâtre Buffon - Université Paris-Diderot - Paris 13)
Ce colloque, co-organisé par les Instituts thématiques multi-organismes (ITMO) Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition (CMN) et Technologies pour la Santé (TS), avait pour objectifs de présenter des exemples d’innovations thérapeutiques réussies dans les domaines de recherche couverts par l’ITMO CMN, de faire mieux appréhender aux chercheurs le potentiel de leurs recherches pour l’innovation et de les informer sur le parcours qui conduit à la valorisation de leurs résultats. Cette manifestation, ouverte par une conférence introductive donnée par Herman Waldmann (Therapeutic Immunology Group - University of Oxford) sur l’utilisation d’anticorps thérapeutiques pour maîtriser les mécanismes de tolérance du système immunitaire, s’est clôturé par une table ronde, permettant d’apporter une vision à la fois académique et industrielle de l’innovation thérapeutique et d’échanger sur la problématique.
Programme

1er symposium franco-allemand sur la recherche sur le diabète

Les 11 et 12 décembre 2014 à l’Ambassade de France à Berlin
Ce symposium co-organisé par l’Ambassade de France, le Centre allemand pour la recherche sur le diabète (DZD) et l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition, en partenariat avec Sanofi, a réuni des experts français et allemands sur des thèmes couvrant la recherche sur la biologie de la cellule beta, les interactions entre les organes et les tissus, l’implication du système immunitaire et l’influence environnementale dans le diabète. Cet événement avait pour objectif de rapprocher les scientifiques allemands et français, de favoriser les échanges et encourager les collaborations. Il a posé les bases d’une académie franco-allemande sur la recherche sur le diabète.
Programme

1ère Journée des Fondations et Associations pour la Recherche sur les Rhumatismes et les Maladies Musculosquelettiques "BIEN VIEILLIR SANS RHUMATISMES NI MALADIES MUSCULO-SQUELETTIQUES"

Le 13 octobre 2014 au Pavillon de l’eau (Paris 16e)
Cette journée a été co-organisée par l’Inserm, Aviesan, la Fondation Arthritis Courtin et la Société Française de Rhumatologie (avec son fonds de dotation "France Rhumatismes") dans le cadre du "World Arthritis Day" Elle a mis en exergue les dernières avancées de la recherche sur les rhumatismes et les maladies musculosquelettiques. Une réunion d’échanges avec les associations de malades a été organisée en fin de journée afin de communiquer dans un langage compréhensible pour le plus grand nombre sur certaines de ces avancées.

Programme
Voir les présentations des intervenants de la journée (Login : aviesan - Mot de passe : avies@n)
Comité de pilotage et d’organisation : Florence Apparailly, Thomas Bardin, Francis Berenbaum, Christian Boitard, Maxime Breban, Lionel Comole, Caroline Dreuillet, René-Marc Flipo, Laure Gossec, Nathalie Grivel, Jérôme Guicheux, Marie-Hélène Lafage-Proust, Christian Roux, Catherine Reillat, Françoise Russo-Marie, Jean Sibilia

Journée mondiale du rein : Colloque "Maladies rénales et vieillissement"

Le 13 mars 2014 à l'Académie nationale de médecine, 16 rue Bonaparte (Paris 6e)
Cette rencontre entre chercheurs, professionnels de santé et associations de malades, a été organisée comme chaque année à l'occasion de la Journée mondiale du rein. L’édition 2014 de ces rencontres, qui s’est tenu le 13 mars à l’Académie nationale de Médecine a porté sur les maladies rénales et le vieillissement.
Lire le journal de la rencontre
Voir les présentations des intervenants de la journée

Workshop "ARN non codants"

Le 19 décembre 2013 à l’Auditorium du site Biopark (Paris 13e)
Ce workshop a été organisé par l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition, en collaboration avec l’ITMO Génétique Génomique Bioinformatique. Il a essentiellement porté sur les ARN non codants avec pour objectifs de faire le point sur les connaissances actuelles dans le domaine et de mettre à disposition ces données récentes issues de la génétique aux équipes plus tournées vers la physiopathologie de maladies dont les causes sont souvent multi factorielles.
Cet atelier a été l'occasion de rassembler des scientifiques et cliniciens de diverses disciplines, d'échanger sur le sujet des ARN non codants, de susciter une réflexion et favoriser des collaborations futures.
Comité scientifique : Dominique Daegelen, Joëlle Marie et Richard Moreau
Programme

2e symposium franco-allemand sur la recherche dans le domaine cardiovasculaire "Frontiers of Cardiovascular Research"

Le vendredi 22 novembre 2013 à l’Ambassade de la République fédérale d’Allemagne de Paris
Ce symposium co-organisé par l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition et le Centre Max-Delbrück de Médecine Moléculaire de Berlin a réuni des experts français et allemands issus de la recherche en cardiovasculaire.
Ouvert à toute la communauté scientifique, il avait pour objectifs de présenter le savoir-faire des chercheurs de chaque pays, favoriser les échanges et susciter de nouvelles collaborations. La journée s’est terminée par une table ronde sur les opportunités de financement des projets collaboratifs franco-allemands.
Plus d’information sur le site dédié
Programme et posters

4e colloque annuel de l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition

Le jeudi 3 octobre 2013 au Petit Auditorium de la Bibliothèque François-Mitterrand, Paris 13e
Dans sa stratégie pour la recherche, l’ITMO CMN a identifié comme une des priorités scientifiques l’étude des interactions multiples et complexes entre organes, incluant le dialogue entre le système nerveux central et les tissus périphériques. Pour la 4ème édition de son colloque annuel, l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition s’est rapproché de l’ITMO Neurosciences, sciences cognitives, neurologie, psychiatrie pour proposer un programme axé sur le contrôle central des fonctions métaboliques.
Le programme a inclus deux conférences générales données par Matthias Tschöp (Centre Helmholtz de Munich, Allemagne) et Claudio Franceschi (Université de Bologne, Italie).
Programme

Workshop "Visualizing Inflammation and Fibrosis"

Le mercredi 26 juin 2013 à l’Amphithéâtre Plein Ciel, MGEN, Paris 15e
Ce workshop organisé par l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition s’est tenu le mercredi 26 juin 2013 à l’Amphithéâtre Plein Ciel, MGEN, Paris 15e
Il a permis d’aborder les différentes techniques utilisées en imagerie animale, aux niveaux cellulaire et tissulaire, avec un focus sur l'inflammation et la fibrose. Cet atelier visait à faire bénéficier des expériences et expertise de chercheurs français et européens et de favoriser les échanges autour de ces techniques afin de conseiller au mieux les futurs utilisateurs.
Programme

Symposium "Jeunes chercheurs" de l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition

Le jeudi 16 mai 2013 à l’Auditorium Adicare, Institut de Cardiologie, GH Pitié-Salpêtrière, Paris 13e
Ce symposium visait à faire connaître les projets de recherche développés dans les champs thématiques de l’ITMO CMN par des jeunes chercheurs de haut niveau et qui feront la recherche de demain, avec pour objectifs d’inciter à la réflexion et de provoquer les interactions. Le programme a inclus deux conférences générales données par Joël Nargeot (Institut de Génomique fonctionnelle, Montpellier) et Pierre Leopold (Institut de Biologie Valrose, Nice).
Programme

Rencontre-débat "Stop aux agressions rénales" avec les associations de malades

Le 21 mars 2013 à l’Académie nationale de Médecine, 16 rue Bonaparte, Paris 6e
Comme chaque année à l’occasion de la Journée Mondiale du Rein, une rencontre-débat a été organisée par la Mission Inserm Associations et l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition en partenariat avec 7 associations de malades concernées par les maladies rénales et la Fondation du Rein. La rencontre 2013 a porté sur l’insuffisance rénale aigüe et l’influence des facteurs environnementaux et médicamenteux.
Lire le journal de la rencontre

Workshop "Apport des analyses « omiques » à la recherche biomédicale dans les domaines cardiovasculaire, métabolique et nutritionnel"

Le 6 décembre 2012 dans l’amphithéâtre du siège de l’Inra, Paris 7e
Ce workshop a été organisé par les ITMOs Circulation métabolisme nutrition et Génétique génomique bio-informatique. Il s’est tenu le 6 décembre 2012 dans l’amphithéâtre du siège de l’Inra (Paris 7e)
Programme de la rencontre

Workshop "Alcohol"

Le jeudi 29 novembre 2012 à l’auditorium Adicare, Institut de Cardiologie, GH Pitié Salpêtrière, Paris 13e
Ce workshop, organisé par les ITMO Circulation, métabolisme, nutrition et Santé publique, a abordé le thème de l'alcool sous des aspects sociétaux, économiques, biologiques et médicaux. Deux conférences internationales ont porté sur l’impact économique de la consommation d’alcool et des maladies associées (Pr. Jürgen Rehm, Toronto, Canada) et sur la prise en charge de l’addiction (Pr. Karl Mann, Université d’Heidelberg, Allemagne). Il s’est adressé aux chercheurs, scientifiques et cliniciens, et acteurs intéressés par ce thème dans l’objectif de susciter une réflexion et de promouvoir des collaborations futures.
Comité scientifique : Jean-Charles Duclos-Vallée, Philippe Mathurin, Richard Moreau, Bertrand Nalpas, Philippe Sogni
Programme

3e colloque annuel de l’ITMO Circulation Métabolisme Nutrition

Le jeudi 29 mars 2012 à la Maison de la Chimie, Paris 7e
Pour sa 3e édition, l’ITMO CMN a mis à l’honneur des jeunes chercheurs prometteurs dont les travaux s’inscrivent dans les champs thématiques couverts par l’institut. Le programme a été ponctué par deux conférences générales données par Jens C Brüning (Université de Cologne, Allemagne) et Jean-Marc Reichhart (Institut de Biologie Moléculaire et Cellulaire, Université de Strasbourg).
Programme de la journée

 

 

 


 

Interview de Christian Boitard, Directeur de l'ITMO Physiopathologie, métabolisme, nutrition

 

Enjeux médicaux

Cœur, vaisseaux, poumon, glandes endocrines, foie, rein, appareil digestif, peau, os, articulations... pas une famille n’est aujourd’hui épargnée par les nombreuses maladies touchant ces organes. Et en l’espace de deux générations, l’obésité est devenue un fléau de nos sociétés opulentes.

Les maladies cardiovasculaires, respiratoires, métaboliques et nutritionnelles, dont la fréquence est grande et les complications dévastatrices, représentent donc un enjeu majeur de santé publique. Les diabètes, l’hyperlipidémie, l’obésité, l’insuffisance rénale, l’athérosclérose mènent à des pathologies cardiovasculaires qui sont, à égalité avec le cancer, la principale cause de mortalité dans les sociétés industrialisées.

La maladie coronarienne, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et l’insuffisance cardiaque chronique rassemblent 75 % des pathologies cardiovasculaires et sont responsables à eux seuls de 29 % des décès annuels. La prévalence des maladies thrombotiques est élevée, la thrombose artérielle (maladies ischémiques) et veineuse (maladie thrombo-embolique) étant la première cause de mortalité au monde. La prévalence des maladies hémorragiques constitutionnelles est limitée, mais leur impact social et économique est important, comme dans le cas de l'hémophilie.

Les maladies respiratoires (asthme, bronco-pneumopathies chroniques obstructives BPCO, fibroses pulmonaires) touchent des millions de personnes en France et leur incidence augmente. La seule BPCO représente déjà la troisième cause de mortalité en Europe, la sixième dans le monde.)

La prévalence des diabètes et de l’intolérance au glucose s’établit aujourd’hui respectivement à 7,1 % et 5,6 % en France, touchant ainsi près de 4 millions de personnes.

Cette prévalence suit une pente régulièrement croissante, galopante dans certains pays, parallèle à celle de l’obésité, qui touche plus de 15 % de la population adulte, mais aussi les populations d’enfants et d’adolescents. Les hyperlipidémies, l’obésité, le diabète sont à l’origine de complications graves : troubles de la vision et cécité, accidents vasculaires et infarctus, neuropathies, amputations, atteintes respiratoires, hépatiques et rénales.

Ces pathologies qui constituent autant de facteurs de risque cardiovasculaires sont d’autant plus sévères quant à leur impact médical qu’elles sont souvent associées chez un même sujet. On a même parlé de véritable syndrome métabolique chez des sujets qui présentent une obésité viscérale (abdominale), une dyslipidémie (taux élevé de triglycérides et/ou un faible taux de HDL-cholestérol), une hypertension artérielle, un diabète, des anomalies de la coagulation, des anomalies du rein (microalbuminurie). S’associent souvent aussi des complications non vasculaires comme les stéatoses hépatiques, qui conduisent à des cirrhoses ou l’arthrose en général, dont l’obésité est à elle seule un facteur aggravant considérable. Les populations touchées sont très diverses. Plusieurs études épidémiologiques suggèrent en particulier que les personnes d’ascendance non européennes sont plus exposées au risque.

De façon paradoxale, nos sociétés sont également confrontées au problème de la malnutrition. On estime que les carences nutritionnelles provoquent encore la mort annuelle de 3 millions d’enfants chaque année, essentiellement dans les pays en développement. Mais la dénutrition concerne aussi 40 % des patients souffrant de maladies chroniques, 30 à 50 % des patients hospitalisés (toutes pathologies confondues), aggravant la morbidité comme la mortalité des sujets. Le vieillissement normal s’accompagne aussi d’un dérèglement fréquent de la prise alimentaire menant à diverses carences.

Les pathologies des os et des articulations sont également un objet de préoccupation des Français, en raison notamment du vieillissement de la population. Elles représentent à elles seules la moitié des pathologies chroniques après 65 ans et sont une cause importante d’invalidité (l’arthrose est le deuxième facteur de handicap chez l’homme, le quatrième chez la femme). Chez les plus de 50 ans, une femme sur quatre et un homme sur huit seront concernés par l’ostéoporose au cours de leur existence.

Les maladies cutanées comprennent une part d’affections allergiques (dermatite atopique, eczéma de contact, dermatoses professionnelles, photo-allergies, urticaires et accidents cutanés dus à l’administration par voie générale d’un médicament (toxidermies)) et une part d’affections inflammatoires chroniques (psoriasis, dermatite atopique, pelade…). Parmi ces dernières, le psoriasis, touche entre deux et trois millions de personnes en France et est associé à une altération importante de la qualité de vie, entraînant souvent un handicap social grave. Le retentissement de cette dermatose sur la qualité de vie est aussi important que celui provoqué par l'asthme, par le diabète ou les maladies ischémiques cardiaques chroniques. Le coût social du psoriasis est ainsi considérable. Le vieillissement de la population s’accompagne d’une fréquence accrue des plaies chroniques d’origine vasculaire des membres inférieurs. Leur prise en charge est complexe et doit être multidisciplinaire, idéalement dans le cadre de réseaux de soins animés par des dermatologues spécialisés dans le domaine de la cicatrisation.

 

 

 

 

(Document stratégique PMN 2015 à venir)


Directeur : Christian Boitard

Co-directeur : Jean Dallongeville

Chargés de mission : Nathalie Grivel, Raymond Bazin

Contact : itmoPMN@aviesan.fr

Comité d'experts : Jean-François Arnal (PU-PH), Francis Berenbaum (PU-PH), Chantal Boulanger (DR, Inserm), Nadine Cerf-Bensussan (DR, Inserm), Jean Dallongeville (DR, Inra), Barbara Demeneix (PR, MNHN), Chloé Féral (DR2, Inserm), Marc Humbert (PU-PH), Christophe Junot (Chercheur, Cea), Armelle Leturque (DR, Cnrs), Michael Lukasiewicz (Directeur médical, Ariis), Roger Marthan (PU-PH), Renato Monteiro (PU-PH), Richard Moreau (DR, Inserm), Luc Pénicaud (DR, Cnrs), Mickaël Tanter (DR, Inserm)

Voir Modifier Créer ici